State of Sea releases debut EP, “Illusions”

The Danish-American musical collaboration State of Sea released their debut EP, “Illusions,” on April 5, combining the Nordic sound with traditional American songwriting for a new, unique perspective on songsmanship.

State of Sea is a Danish-American group composed of music veterans James Craft, Anna Roemer and Anna Scharling. The trio has combined the “Nordic sound” with traditional American songwriting and draws from electronica and folk to create State of Sea’s unique, ambient sound. Illusions stands out with guitar, piano, vocals, strings, percussion and touches of synthesizer. State of Sea’s name references the most secretive place on earth: the sea. The EP was inspired from group’s fantasies of Edward Snowden’s experience while fleeing to Russia.

Craft is a composer, teacher, and songwriter in Los Angeles. As a songwriter and lead vocalist, Craft fronted the band La Strada in New York, which cut three albums and toured the U.S. and Canada.

Roemer is a guitarist, composer and producer based in Copenhagen, Denmark who has played showcases at TMW (Estonia) and SPOT (Denmark) 2016. Roemer studied composition at UofT, Toronto with pianist David Braid and finished her master in composition at SDMK, Odense.

Scharling is a Danish singer and songwriter and also performs as a solo artist. In 2015, she released an EP with her own singer/songwriter project, and she has performed at showcases such as Tallinn Music Week and SPOT Festival. In 2017, she released her debut album, “Sleeping at the Gates,” and is otherwise performing and writing for the Danish experimental pop group, EKSIL.

“Illusions” is available on iTunes, Google Play, Spotify, Amazon and more.

1- Illusion
2- Eyes Wide Open
3- Dawn Over Iceland
4- In A Hotel Room In Moscow
5- Young
6- Illusion II

Leave a Reply