Tickets to “Wicked” on sale this Friday

Tickets will go on sale this week for Des Monies Civic Center performance of the Broadway sensation “Wicked,” June 17  – July 5 as part of the 2019-2020 Des Moines Performing Arts Willis Broadway Series. Tickets will be available Friday, Feb. 14 at 10 a.m. and can be purchased at DMPA.org, the Civic Center Ticket Office, or by phone at 515-246-2300.

The Broadway musical looks at what happened in the Land of Oz from a different angle. Long before Dorothy arrives, there is another young woman, born with emerald-green skin, who is smart, fiery, misunderstood, and possessing an extraordinary talent. When she meets a bubbly blonde who is exceptionally popular, their initial rivalry turns into the unlikeliest of friendships…until the world decides to call one “good,” and the other one “wicked.” With a thrilling score that includes the hits “Defying Gravity,” “Popular” and “For Good,” “Wicked” has been hailed by The New York Times as “the defining musical of the decade,” and by Time Magazine as “a magical Broadway musical with brains, heart, and courage.”

Having recently celebrated its 16th anniversary on Broadway, “Wicked” is the winner of over 100 international awards including the Grammy Award and three Tony Awards. “Wicked” has been performed in over 100 cities in 16 countries around the world (U.S., Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Japan, Germany, Holland, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, The Philippines, Mexico, Brazil, Switzerland and China) and has thus far been translated into six languages: Japanese, German, Dutch, Spanish, Korean and Portuguese. “Wicked” has amassed nearly $5 billion in global sales and has been seen by over 60 million people worldwide.

Performance Schedule:
Wednesday, June 17       7:30 p.m.
Thursday, June 18           2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Friday, June 19                 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, June 20            2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, June 21               1:00 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, June 23             7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, June 24       7:30 p.m.
Thursday, June 25          7:30 p.m.
Friday, June 26                 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, June 27            2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, June 28              1:00 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, June 30            7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, July 1          7:30 p.m.
Thursday, July 2              7:30 p.m.
Friday, July 3                    2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 4               2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, July 5                  1:00 p.m.

For more information about “Wicked”, visit www.WickedTheMusical.com and DMPA.org.

Follow “Wicked” on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.